Questionnaire design

Since I am designing my own online research survey at the moment, I thought that I would complete this one: https://opinio.ucl.ac.uk/s?s=34490, since it is very broadly related to my own topic. It might serve the needs of these particular researchers well, but it had, from my perspective, a number of frustrating questions and design aspects. One of the multiple choice questions didn’t give me a choice I was happy with (and no ‘other’ option was provided). The questions with ‘free text’ answers were a little vague. A useful exercise in questionnaire design, nonetheless.

If you are a music researcher (broadly construed) you might like to take the survey.  It took me about 8 – 10 minutes.

Update, 8 January 2015:

Another academic survey which was quite tedious to plough through. Grammatical solecisms and spelling mistakes abounded. I stuck at it for my benefit rather than the principle (sic.) researcher’s.
https://survey.socsci.co.uk/index.php/116373/lang-en

Update, 11 January 2015

This survey fails at Q.7, where no suitable option is available.  The questionnaire’s introduction doesn’t explain that the participant needs to be / have been a ‘user’ of substances and that doesn’t become obvious until Q.7.

http://www.surveygizmo.com/s3/1770602/attitudes-to-legal-highs

Following a twitter conversation with the author, he agrees that the introduction could have been clearer and will amend the text accordingly.

This entry was posted in Research methods and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

