A caution against perfection in doctoral writing

Food for thought.

DoctoralWriting SIG

By Claire Aitchison

I confess I am not a big fan of that very contemporary convention: the bronzed and buffed, body beautiful. I feel the same about the writing of doctoral students during their candidature. In a world where we have unlimited capacity to ensure a polished product – let me explain my aversion.

I like a bit of the unconventional, the not yet perfect; I am drawn to the possibilities left open in the small imperfections of a bespoke doctoral writer (or body for that matter!). I’ve always been suspicious of perfection: it seems so closed, so artificial, so final – and so un-human. More plastic, than real. Indicative of misplaced priorities: style over substance perhaps?

But neither do I like the truly rough and ready, disorganised and chaotic product. If there was a way of measuring this, my preference would be to only very occasionally receive those truly…

View original post 707 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

